Booting Up, The Making of MowBot Part 1

If you want to start with automation in a Microsoft there are 2 main roads (that can be combined)

  • .NET Micro framework
  • Raspberry ( Windows 10 IoT Core )
  • Arduino

In my case the actual decision was already made, Only 1 of the three runs PowerShell !! … 😉

But I got myself a bit of background on all three, and did go with my original plan and ordered an Raspberry, some   and …  to be completely sure an Arduino.

No definitive main goal yet , but some of my targets

  • Windows 10 IoT knowledge
  • Enhance UWP knowledge
  • Fresh Up , enhance knowledge electronics
  • experience PowerShell on IoT
  • learning Robotics
  • To get as much working as possible
  • I like converting from Python
  • Visual studio usage
  • Something a bit different.

In this series, I will share my experiences on the way … and ahead …

As told, not too prepared … it was not about the target but about the journey,

So a not supported Wifi adapter (now supported, see former posts ) hence a network cable – Raspberry 7″ Display not supported yet, so a 24″ Monitor – and a Logitech Wireless keyboard mouse combo I had laying around. …

WP_20160209_18_33_32_Pro_LI

… but in a couple of hours, following the instructions on :

Get Started with Windows IoT

I had a base setup and Hello World App running … and when I … just for fun, without any changes, did deploy a former UWP App I made to control my HUE lights from my Phone.

It just ran …. and was completely functional !

So the first thing my “Bot” could do was control my Lights !! ;).

From there it went fast, I added a lot since then  ;),  … as of today the Bot also processes commands and sends messages using the cloud ..

But first things first, the next step- to get started with sensors – was adding a SenseHat, adding :

  • an 8×8 RGB LED matrix,
  • a five-button joystick

and includes the following sensors:

  • Gyroscope
  • Accelerometer
  • Magnetometer
  • Temperature
  • Barometric pressure
  • Humidity

And as there is even a Nuget package : RPi.SenseHat 0.1.0.8 ,as also a bit explained in former post, was a great next step to take.

So in the next post I will explain how I got the SenseHat basic sensor functionality running on the Raspberry Pi  with windows 10 IoT and the Nuget package and my experiences with this.

Enjoy,

Greetings /\/\o\/\/

 

t

Leave a Reply

